top of page

REVIEW: DEADSPACE - THE GRAND DISILLUSIONMENT

Updated: Sep 15, 2019


Everyday I wake up, take a piss, make coffee and then load up facebook. My typical morning routine. Everyday I scroll and see post in groups with new releases everyday. Some good, some bad, some amazing and some just down right fucking horrible. Today I was pleasantly surprised when I saw the album cover for the release "The Grand Disillusionment" by Deadspace.


NOW, before I go much further, I will say that in the black metal scene, shit is so over saturated with bad bands and bad attempts at trying to do shit that's already been done 1000 times that its hard to find the diamonds in the rough. And now with the release of the movie The Lords of Chaos being out every 10 year old that has HULU is now in a black metal band being trve kvlt as fuck. But lets get real. 95% of the time its garbage. But today my friends, today we hit that diamond and its called Deadspace.


Now to give a little background on the band it looks like they have been releasing music since 2015 and have multiple independent releases with zero label backing. If you check out their official Facebook page you will see that not only do they have a loyal and solid following but they also showcase a solid live presence as well. So after sifting through their social media and doing some google searches I finally go to the Deadspace Bandcamp Page to check out the sounds that will be coming from this album cover that intrigued me from the beginning. As soon as I hit play I knew I was in for a treat and I know all of you black metal fans will feel the same.






BAND: DEAD SPACE

ALBUM: THE GRAND DISILLUSIONMENT

FROM: AUSTRALIA






Okay so where do I start with this unexpected album. Firstly I will say that the album has a good flow. Sometimes the hardest part of making an album is figuring the song order to build an atmosphere within the listening experience. Deadspace did a fantastic job pulling the listener in and bringing you through this amazing atmospheric depressive black metal ride. A ride that I keep finding myself wanting to get on. A good thing to note. It starts of with the black metal perfection track "Inhale the Slime". This album has a great variety of influences as you can hear in the transitions from song to song building an epic style climax. Deadspace also shows off the talent and tightness of the band with other songs such as "Masturbation Ritual", then you get songs like "Lungs" that have that super groovy (for black metal) in your face style and then you get the epic melodiousness of tracks like "The Ashes of the World" being my favorite track from the release, although the entire album is a win from start to finish.


Production on this album, for me is perfect. Not only am I a musician but I am a fan of music in general. I'm not an elitist who thinks it needs to be this way or that. I enjoy it all. From demo tapes to high and crazy expensive production and Deadspace falls right smack dab in the middle hitting the black metal utopian sound if you will. We have well executed and arranged music that sounds great but still has the raw, cassette tape over gained sound we'd expect with a typical black metal release but with some polish to it. So what you end up with is the perfect balance between the new and the old sounds.


LISTEN TO THE ALBUM



I can saw that today was a good day on Facebook and there is nothing more than I enjoy than finding new bands I enjoy and can support and get behind. Deadspace is one of those bands for me and I fortunate to have their music playing in my life now.

I recommend for and fan of the black metal genre because again it gives a solid and well put together variety for styles that makes an enjoyable listening experience.


RATING:

⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐ 5/5


If you enjoy Deadspace and what they do then I suggest hitting those social media links listed above and show your support buy purchasing merch, following and sharing their post and most importantly, spreading the good word of what it is they do and offer the world.


Scroll down below to watch the latest Deadspace music video.








DEADSPACE - AS TIME MOVES BACKWORDS (OFFICIAL MUSIC VIDEO)



What do you think of Deadspace and their latest release? Let us know in the comments below!

88 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page