top of page

INTERVIEW: BORIS RANDALL of HALLOWMAS / Ex-Necrophagia BY Donhead Craig

Updated: Oct 13, 2019







Boris welcome to Black Mass Metal.com, Can you tell our readers a little about the background and Origin of your music and some of the other projects and bands you have worked with over the years?




Boris Randall: I started playing guitar in metal and hardcore bands when I was 12. I was always focused on writing my own material from day one.By age 16,

in the late 80s, I formed my own hardcore punk band called The Splatterpunks. In late 2001 I formed a punk band called Hallowmas. In 2009 I joined Necrophagia

as guitarist. 2016 I had a doom metal project called Kafka Rex. My music has always been horror infused. That's what inspires me. And by marrying the two

I've had some great opportunities: scoring Bill Hinzman's stage version of Night Of The Living Dead, working with Rue Morgue Radio show,writing for magazines

Like Fangoria, Gorezone, and Rue Morgue. The list goes on.







What are some of the most memorable shows you have played over the years and what bands?


Boris Randall: 2011 Neurotic Deathfest with Necrophagia in The Netherlands. It was a great show and an all around great experience. 2005 The Rex Theatre with

Hallowmas in Pittsburgh, PA. It was a highlight for that band's career. Great show. Many great shows, but these 2 always come back to me.




What type of guitars do you use to get that Boris Randall tone?


Boris Randall: Primarily Gibson. I'm a Gibson guy through and through. I prefer SGs, and have several, but I love Les Pauls as well. I also play a few

Epiphone models of SG and Les Paul. I have a Fender Jaguar that I'm very fond of. I only use it for special or rare occasions.


Being that you are a vintage horror movie fan, what are some of your favorite old school horror movies?


Boris Randall: Night Of The Living Dead(1968) is what did it for me. When I saw that it really changed the game for me and made it's way into my music.Jean Rollin's

Zombie Lake had a hand in it too. I worship anything by George A. Romero, Jean Rollin, Jess Franco, Dario Argento. I love certain Lucio Fulci films:The Beyond, City Of The Living Dead, Demonia. The original Amityville Horror is a favorite. Anything from John Carpenter is brilliant. I also love silent horror films. Basically, anything Horror or Suspense from 1920 to 2000 and I like it.




Who are some of your musical influences when you were young that inspired you to create music?


Boris Randall: The very earliest artists that really inspired and caused me to play music were The Beatles, Wings, Elvis Presley, ABBA, Black Sabbath, Cheap Trick.

When I was a teenager I turned to punk. Inspired by bands like Black Flag, The Sex Pistols, Samhain, Ramones, Murphy's Law, Bauhaus, etc. I love all kinds of music.

From Classical to 70s rock to Black Metal, Punk, Metal. If something appeals to me on any level I'll listen to it.



Do you do any kind of collecting of crazy, obscure items or music?


Boris Randall: With music I collect all releases from my favorite artists. No digital copies, I have to have the real cd. Sometimes I'll buy certain releases on vinyl.

With horror,I have it in any form I can find: Soundtrack cds, books, comics, posters, toys and statues, etc. And I do have a pretty extensive collection of vintage embalming and funerary items.



Who are some of the new bands that are coming out that catch your ear these days?


Boris Randall: Honestly, none. Any band that I listen to that is still running currently has been around 15-20 years now.


Do you think in the future Hallowmas would ever regroup and work on new material?




Boris Randall: It is very possible. I've been playing with Damien (guitar, Hallowmas) on a regular basis since Hallowmas disbanded. There's always a possibility for it. And there is always the possibility for The Splatterpunks. Both of those bands are very dear to me.



How was it working with the legendary Killjoy [R.I.P] from the band Necrophagia in your short time as a guitarist in the band?



Boris Randall: It was great, like I assumed it would be. What was more important to me was to share the experience with a life long friend. Killjoy and I had a 30 year

friendship. What we did together, and the depth of our friendship, was worth much more than what we did together in Necrophagia over the 2 1/2 years I was in the band.




What are some of the other music genres you like that are not extreme or heavy in style?



Boris Randall: Classical music! That shit can get downright heavy! I like 70s rock, old old Blues, I like a lot of Industrial and Darkwave stuff as well. NIN, Gary Numan,

London After Midnight. Different things appeal to me for different reasons. I never limit my intake of music. (I've never bought any, but I must admit....Taylor Swift

knows how to write one helluva pop anthem!)


If you had a chance to work on music with a musician from the '70s who would it be?


Boris Randall: Paul McCartney. If we could also bring back the dead, Jim Morrison.


Boris I'm gonna let you have this last one. Feel free to tell our readers about any projects,releases, shout outs or anything you wanna say. Thanks for taking the time to talk to us at Black Mass metal.com


Boris Randall: I'm currently working on punk and gothic rock projects under my own name. Solo albums from 2006 through 2019 can be found on my bandcamp page. Thanks, Donhead!


You rule as always.




Free Album Download Click Link Below







119 views0 comments
bottom of page