top of page

INTERVIEW WITH Dave Dalton FROM LEGION by Donhead Craig

Updated: Sep 23, 2019





Photo taken By Mike Lansaw

Welcome to Black mass metal.com can you tell our readers old and new about how Legion started and some of your influences that made you wanna start legion?


Dave Dalton: Legion was initially formed in the Summer of 1991, after my previous band, Ratzkrieg, imploded. At first, it was just myself and original bassist (then guitarist) Dave Stader. The name was his idea and was first inspired by the Book/movie, Exorcist III. After a little biblical research, we decided to go with it. By November of the same year, we were a five-piece band with 4/5ths of us living together at our practice space and rehearsing five nights a week while partying 24/7. Our influences ran the gamut from old school thrash to what was then modern death metal (primarily east coast bands like Suffocation and Immolation as well as Swedish gods (Entombed and Grave).



What are some of your most memorable shows/fest legion has played over the years?


Dave Dalton: We've been lucky enough to play some festivals with quite a few of the major bands from the metal scene: Randy Kastner's Spring Bash,

Sandra Newtons Michigan Death Fest and International Metal Fest, Rob Masons Indianapolis Metal Fest and more.





What inspires legions lyrical content for songwriting?


Dave Dalton: Hatred, death, murder, misanthropy, disdain for the stupidity of humanity in general...you know, happy stuff.


Who are some of the Legendary bands that Legion has shared the stage with that has made an impact on you musically?










Dave Dalton: We've shared the stage with the likes of Immolation,Gorguts,Morpheus Descends, Internal Bleeding, Incantation, Mortician, Anal Cunt...way more than I can remember! The highlight for me would have to be opening for Death to a packed house the night before my wedding in 1998. I see that you're a member of the NYDM Indiana chapter.Has that helped Legions fan base outside Indiana in other states being able to play in front of new fans?





Dave Dalton: It has helped quite a bit. The club is a great network for bands. We pride ourselves on being honest, trustworthy connections for metal bands at all levels who are booking tours, looking for shows or clubs or even needing help while on the road or a place to crash when they are passing through.


I know you're a fan of many music Genres ...what is your favorite style that's not extreme metal?




Dave Dalton: It's really hard for me to have a single favorite anything. It's safe to say that I listen to everything except modern country-pop. I've said before that listening to my iPod on shuffle would give the average person a stroke or aneurysm. I can go from Napalm Death to Bjork to Johnny Cash to Beethoven to Al Di Meola to Front 242 to...N.W. A. Lately I've really been into Flamenco and Spanish guitar styles as well as Joni Mitchell. She is a very special, truly gifted and multi-faceted Artist.



What are some of the past music projects that you were involved in over the years that meant a lot to you and had a blast playing with?

Ratzkrieg

Dave Dalton: Ratzkrieg was the first band I was in and was a lot of fun. We were young and having the time of our lives playing thrash/death metal from 87 to 91. I was in a local punkish band called Hellwinkle from around 94 to 06 or so and that music was very fun to play. So Sayeth was a doomish, stoner rock outfit that I really liked and served as a great secondary creative outlet for me. Unfortunately, we disbanded not long after our first release (The Silver Tongue). I thought that the band was going to do great things.I'm currently drumming for Demons of Wrathica and doing studio work for them and Yellowtooth with a few other projects looming on the horizon.



If you had a chance to fill in drums for one night for a legendary death metal band that has influenced you ...who would it be?



Dave Dalton: That's a tough one. Probably Immolation or Entombed. Those are two of my biggest influences in death metal.


Can you tell us about what type of drum kit and hardware you use to create legions drum sound?




Dave Dalton: I've been a Tama player since the late 80s. Live, I'm still playing the same Rockstar kit that I got in 1990. 8 piece, double kick drum in gun metal grey. Im using a custom-built 8 x 14 snare.For hardware I'm using a vintage Tama Power Tower rack. Pedals are Longboards by Axis Percussion. Current cymbals are mostly vintage Zildjian Z series with a few Z customs in the mix. I've recently been approved as an endorser of Soultone Cymbals so I expect to be making some changes in the cymbal department. In the studio, I'm using a duplicate set up but the drums are Tama Granstar II which are a step up in quality from the Rockstars. My studio snare is usually a Tama 6 1/2 x 14 brass or a Ludwig Supraphonic. Evans heads on pretty much everything. Promark 707 sticks.



I understand you have a home studio where legion records its releases, How is that verses recording on the clock at a paid studio?



Dave Dalton: Its a world of difference. After our second demo (Blissful Misery) failed to meet our expectations, I decided I didn't want to try to knock out recordings in a weekend anymore and to spend the money on gear instead of studio time. Honestly, my recordings may not sound as good as a professional studio, but having the time to relax and get better takes makes up for that in my mind.It's been a learning experience that never stops. I've only recently made the jump to recording with a PC and am relearning how to think about engineering a recording after years of doing everything the hard way.


Is Legion working on any new material for a new release or maybe some old remastered demos to be released in the future?




Dave Dalton: We are currently tracking guitars for a ten-song release. We have six to eight more songs on the deck that well start tracking as soon as the ten are finished. I doubt well re-release any of the old demos at this point simply because I was never happy with them. We have talked about re-recording all the old songs and releasing them on one disc. I expect that will happen in time.



Dave I'm going to let you have this last one, Feel free to talk about whatever you like, add links so fans can purchase your music and feel free to plug any bands you like in the scene.Thanks for taking the time to give us this Interview for black mass metal ..Horns high \m/






Dave Dalton: Well, Id like to thank all the die-hards like you who keep the metal alive. All the good people who promote, book shows, take pics, host radio shows and all the things to take care of bands like LEGION.Id like to give special thanks to our label, Dark Horizon Records for working with us and for being patient while weve dealt with numerous life changes as a band and as individuals. Id also like to express gratitude to all the people who have believed in LEGION since 1991 and still come to see us in 2019. It means everything. Most of all, I want to personally and humbly give thanks to my bandmates: Scott Lindell,Mike Johns, Scott Ruble and Cory Runyon for believing in what we do and handling business when business needs handled. Also,thanks to everyone who has ever been in the band as they are never forgotten.

All our CDs and demos are currently out of print but you can purchase and download most of them at: www.darkhorizonrecords.bandcamp.com

Shout out to all the bands we play shows with! It's always an honor! See you again soon!

Thanks, Donhead and Black Mass Metal!!




CHECK OUT SOME LEGION VIDEOS BELOW



















188 views0 comments
bottom of page