top of page

Interview with Sarke From the bands Khold,Tulus and Sarke By Donhead Craig




Sarke , welcome to Black Mass Metal.com. & thank you for taking the time to do this interview with me. How old were you when you discovered that you wanted to become a musician and what was the first Instrument you learned & at what age?




Sarke: A father of a friend of mine, they had a band. They rehearsed in the basement. They played The beatles, ELO, 10cc and songs like that.After they finished rehearsal we jumped over the instrument and had our own band. I played keyboard. I use to have piano lessons when I was younger.But I do wanted to play drums. My older brother used to play drums. One day the drummer wanted to play guitar instead, then I took over the drums. Our age was around 15-16 I think. Then we discover metal music and started to do more of that.




What early metal bands were you exposed to as a youth that inspired you to want to join bands and perform music ?



Sarke: My first bands in metal was. Slayer, Mayhem, Darkthrone, Motorhead, Black Sabbath..Shortly after Metallica, Iron Maiden, Celtic Frost, Candlemass, Mercyful Fate, King Diamond, Death, Obituary, Nuclear assault, Kreator and so on. And of course many other bands.



Tulus formed in 1991 and released 5 studio albums from 1996 to 2012...What was your favorite Tulus album to record in the studio and had fun making?



Sarke: of course all albums has its moment. But it was special to record our first full length album Pure black energy. I still like that album much today.



When Khold First started who's idea was it to start the Band?...and Where did the name Khold come from?





Sarke: khold came alive in 2000. We sign to Moonfog. Me and Blodstrup decided to have a heavy dark band to tour with. So we got two new members and formed Khold.We just had some name ideas and landed on Khold. Just a name I came up with.




The First Khold Album I discovered years ago was "Phantom" and that album is dear to me and I love it!! ... What is your favorite "Phantom" Track to perform live?




Sarke: Thanks, great to hear. I think it most be the title track, Phantom. Dark, heavy and atmospheric.




I noticed online that Kholds Music is Considered the "Black-n-roll" style of Black metal... Who coined the style as Black-n-Roll?



Sarke: I have no idea. But I guess its because of the grooves and the 4/4 beat.






I like to talk Gear talk! ...What is your favorite drum kit and Guitars to use while performing with Khold and Sarke in the studio and live?





Sarke: we use ESP guitars. Amps we have used different.. everything from Marshall, Peavey, Digi tech, Mesa.. and more. Drums I have Pearl now. I have also used Premier kit on some of the recordings. Now I use Paiste cymbals.



I love the track "Dagger Entombed" love the sound of it. How was the experience to work alongside Nocturno Culto with songwriting and recording sessions for that track?



Sarke: Dagger Entombed was almost thrown away. But in the end we agreed it sounded a bit cool. And when we recorded it and got the keys on, we thought wow .. great song. I wrote this track alone. But of course its great to work with Nocturno Culto. He is very honest and true to metal and that's always very good to collaborate with.





How did the band Sarke come into play to become a band?...was it something you wanted to do solo away from Khold and Tulus?


Sarke: At that time not much happened with Tulus and Khold. The people was busy with other things for a while. But I have to create music all the time. Then I thought, maybe I can do a solo album were I do everything myself. To make a "tribute" album where I make music from bands that has inspired me from the beginning. With Khold and Tulus we try to have our own style of music. With Sarke I let my inspiration from other bands flow free.






I have never seen Khold Live & would love to someday!... I know you guys played the Maryland death fest awhile back and I missed it. Any Talks of Khold or Sarke touring the USA in the Future?



Sarke: Not at the moment. Get the talk going in New York, so maybe some place will

book us there. Would be great to play New York if you have a metal scene over there that would see Khold or Tulus live. Then they can contact our management: photograve.net


Is Khold or Sarke working on any new material for a future release?




Sarke: Sarke will release a new album now november 1st. Tulus will release a new album in March. Khold have no album planned at the moment.






Sarke, I'm gonna let you have this last part and Feel free to talk about whatever you want on any band and Leave links and info for readers to order CDs and merch. Thanks again for taking the time to do this with me for Black Mass Metal.com \m/


Sarke : People can check out facebook for Khold, Tulus and Sarke.


management: photograve.net


Thanks for the interview.





299 views0 comments
bottom of page