top of page

INTERVIEW WITH Bob macabre FROM CHAINSAW DISSECTION By Donhead Craig

Updated: Sep 23, 2019




Donhead [Black mass metal]: Bob can you tell us a little on the history of Chainsaw Dissection and what inspired you to create the music?

Bob macabre : I started this project around 2004. Some of the first recordings I did I used a Boss Heavy Metal Pedal and a lot of people called that “the chainsaw tone.” This is how the name came about and it sounded cool. This project was initially inspired by the early Swedish death metal bands like Entombed and Dismember. Those two bands were big influences. It eventually evolved into grind-core like Last Days of Humanity.


Donhead [Black mass metal]: Has Chainsaw Dissection always been a one-man band? ...Have you ever worked with other musicians doing chainsaw?

Bob macabre : This project has always been a one-man band. I have not worked with anyone else on this project. I have worked with Adam Rotella and Mike Scrivens on other projects.

Donhead [Black mass metal]: I see you're a big Horror movie fan, what are some of your favorite horror/gore movies that are just Insane?

Bob macabre : Gore Whore, Blood Sucking Freaks, Reanimator, Poultrygeist: Night of the Chicken Dead, plus the usual ones: Friday the 13th, Halloween, etc. Pretty much anything 80s slasher horror/gore.

Donhead [Black mass metal]: Can you tell us a little on what gear you use to create your sounds..like Guitars, pickups, and drums?



Bob macabre : Drums are a drum machine, guitars, I have used 3 different BC Rich guitars, pickups are stock pickups (whatever pickups came with the guitar). Boss and Digitek pedals. Marshall and Crate amps. Schecter bass. I pretty much use this gear on all my projects.

Donhead [Black mass metal]: If you had a chance to collaborate and work on music with one of your Musical Influences who would it be...any genre?

Bob macabre : If I can only choose one, it would be awesome to jam with Buddy Guy. That might surprise some people, but I love listening to blues.

As far as the metal scene goes, definitely Kerry King from Slayer as well as Dimebag Darrell from Pantera.


Donhead [Black mass metal]: I see you do a slew of Projects and releases...Can you tell our readers Information of some of those Projects?

Bob macabre : If I would answer this, we would be here forever and a day. The best bet is to check out my link on Bandcamp. I’ll share the link at the end. Everything that is available for purchase can be located there.

Donhead [Black mass metal]: Are there any movies or books out there that have Inspired any Lyric content for your music?



Bob macabre : Any kind of horror/slasher movies. In additional to serial killer documentaries and books, Cold Case Files, you know stuff like that. Also, Unsolved Mysteries from back in the day. I loved watching that show when I was a kid.

Donhead [Black mass metal]: How do you go about getting ideas for album art...and who are some of the artists that have helped your vision for cover art?

Bob macabre : I use real crime photos that are influenced by what I watch. I have also some art from Mike Scrivens. I believe he may have obtained that from someone else though. Mike Hrubovcak from Visual Darkness. Sometimes I do stuff myself in photoshop.


Donhead [Black mass metal]: Are there any new bands out there In the Extreme metal Genre that you like these days?

Bob macabre : I really don’t follow a whole lot of new stuff. About the only band I can say is Nervosa. I tend to stick to 80s and 90s death, thrash, and speed metal. Nothing new really cuts it for me. I do like a lot of new power metal bands like Freedom Call. They’re not an extreme band, but I really enjoy their music.

Donhead [Black mass metal]: Do you do any kind of collecting of weird Obscure things...If so tell us?

Bob macabre : Probably the weirdest thing I can think of is these two corpse props I ordered years ago online. They have been “featured” on some of my covers. I also used one of the corpses in a movie I made called “Grave Defiler.” I collect Halloween type props and have a couple animatronic life-size props of Jason, Michael Myers, and Pinhead. I have a life-size zombie prompt, a grim reaper, and mummy. I also started collecting some Egyptian items over the last couple of years.


Donhead [Black mass metal]: Are you working on any new music?, if so what Projects are you working on.

Bob macabre : I have been mainly jamming, but not really writing. I am planning on working on a new Corpse Knife project sometime in the future. Just keeping my options opened. You never know when I’ll be inspired.



Donhead [Black mass metal]: Ok Bob I'm gonna let you have this last one, Feel free to mention & talk about whatever you want. Please feel free to link any of your projects and where to buy your music. Thanks a lot for taking the time to do this interview with me for Black mass metal .com ... Horns high

Thanks for asking me to do the interview and it was fun.



Here is the link for my Bandcamp: https://macabremastermindrecords.bandcamp.com

Also, check out my wife’s Youtube channels that I help her out with:

Karen and Bluto’s Not Another Review Channel: https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCS2k3t8HyCOIsb5d2SB9kNA/



































335 views0 comments
bottom of page