top of page

Jerry Kavouriaris FROM ELBOW DEEP INTERVIEW By Donhead Craig

Updated: Oct 13, 2019





Photo by Mike lansaw for SickenDesigns taken at Full terror assault 2019


What Influenced you to create the band Elbow Deep?



Jerry Kavouriaris: I've always enjoyed getting a rise out of people whether it be through shock or comedy. Elbow Deep enabled me to do that while staying true to myself musically.


What are some of the band's favorite Horror/gore slasher films?


Jerry Kavouriaris: The Toxic Avenger, Dead Alive, Zombie, Maniac, Brain Damage, Gates of Hell, Street Trash, Evil Dead 1 - 2, Riki Oh, Return Of The Living Dead, Hobo With A Shotgun, too many to name! total horror geeks over here though!




I noticed over the recent years you use " freakshow body torture" with staple guns as a part of your stage performance How did that idea come into play?


Jerry Kavouriaris: I just started realizing more and more that people mainly wanted to see Jeff and I suffer. So naturally, I decided to capitalize on that.











Tell us about some of the "Visual" artists who created these brutal Elbow Deep album covers?




Jerry Kavouriaris: Nev of Gruesome Graphx, has done the most art for us. I think his gross unapologetic style suits us well, he has the fastest turnaround time out of any artist I've ever gone through. Plus he my Boy! Mark Richards of Heavy Hand illustration is an extreme talent with a good sense of dark humor. He knocked my vision for "Sexually Offensive" out of the park with what I like to believe is the greatest cover art of all time!!






Has Elbow Deep ever played a show & a crazed fan did some disgusting stuff in the crowd in honor of the music?


Jerry Kavouriaris: There's at least one every show. I've had fans throw chairs, glass bottles, used tampons, garbage cans, at me.People Beg me to bleed on them,I've hit people with my barbed wire bat (cause they asked me to!.. well mostly), people cut themselves,

fight each other. So yeah,we seem to bring the crazy out of them.


You once told me that you shared the stage with Killjoy [R.I.P] from Necrophagia at a show in Chicago... can you tell our readers about that night?




Jerry Kavouriaris: My old band, They Die Screaming, opened for them in Chicago in 2015. Which was unreal for me, since it's no secret Necrophagia is my all-time favorite band. Killjoy was beyond friendly, showing me unused Necrophagia artworks off his cellphone and even hugged me after our set.\ It was a blurry yet unforgettable night. Necrophagia ended up coming back 2 more times. One at Reggies, where I sang the chorus to Cannibal Holocaust (from the

crowd.)Still awesome! I'm just thankful I go to meet and hang with one of my idols before he passed.


What are some of Elbow Deeps Hobby's outside of making brutal music?



Jerry Kavouriaris: Getting Jeff drunk, (which is not very difficult to believe it or not,) and having him do unintelligent things. Such as; licking dog vomit, jumping into garbage cans, or rolling in thumbtacks.


When Elbow deep is on the road traveling...what type of food does the band eat to survive?







Jerry Kavouriaris: I try and keep it healthy which usually lasts about 1.3 days..Then it's gas station coffee and sandwich, anything free, roadkill, and whatever Walmart has to offer.


What are some of the other genres of music do you like...That's Not Extreme metal?



Jerry Kavouriaris: Horror scores and or synth, gangsta rap, jazz, rock.



Thanks so much for letting me do this interview with you...I'm gonna let you have this last one. Feel free to say what you want regarding shows,releases or any shout outs to other bands. Thanks




Jerry Kavouriaris: We have some huge things planned for next year. People will definitley be seeing more of us in a live setting.Plus a whole bunch of NEW material and merch headed your way!!! So keep your eyes peeled and wallets peeled-er..


Check out Links below for merch and information :









Check out Elbow Deep Music below :


Enjoy some Elbow deep Videos :






236 views0 comments
bottom of page